AI Agent Index

Make.com vs Workato (2026)

Side-by-side comparison of Make.com vs Workato: pricing, capabilities, integrations, deployment complexity, and ratings. Built from The AI Agent Index's verified listing data. Make.com last verified August 28, 2026. Workato last verified July 20, 2026.

Data sourced from The AI Agent Index

Make.com logo

Make.com

by Celonis (Make)

Visual workflow automation with advanced branching and data manipulation across 3,000+ apps. MCP server and client included. Free tier, with Core from $9/mo billed annually or $10.59 monthly.

freemiumBOTH
Visit Make.com
Workato logo

Workato

by Workato

Workato is an enterprise iPaaS and automation platform that turns trusted workflows into MCP servers for AI agents. Gartner Magic Quadrant Leader for iPaaS. Custom pricing across three editions.

customENTERPRISE
Visit Workato
Make.com
Workato
Pricing model
freemium
custom
Starting price
$9/mo, billed annually
Contact sales
Pricing transparency
mostly public
quote only
Contract type
both
annual only
Customer segment
BOTH
ENTERPRISE
Deployment
cloud
cloud, on-premise
Setup difficulty
moderate
complex
Avg setup time
2 to 6 weeks for initial deployment (connector configuration, workflow building, security setup); 1 to 3 months for full enterprise rollout with MCP server publishing
Editorial rating
4.6 / 5
4.4 / 5
G2 rating
4.6/5 (344 reviews)
4.7/5 (778 reviews)
MCP
Server + client
Server
GitHub stars
N/A
N/A
Data training
not disclosed
not disclosed
Human in loop
optional
optional
Security certs
SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, GDPR, CCPA
SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, ISO 42001, HIPAA, GDPR, CCPA

Capabilities

Make.com

no-codeworkflow-builderdata-analysiscrm-syncreporting

Workato

workflow-builderdata-analysisreportingautonomousno-code

Pros & Limitations

Editorial assessment

Make.com

Pros

  • Visual scenario builder handles complex branching, iteration, parallel execution, and data transformation that Zapier's linear editor cannot match. Scenario Inputs and Outputs enable structured data passing between chained workflows.
  • Credit-based pricing bills per module action rather than per task, and the price per scenario drops as credit tiers scale. On Pro and above, annual billing lets credits pool across 12 months rather than expiring each month. File size limits rise from 5 MB on Free to 1 GB on Enterprise.
  • Connects 3,000+ apps with detailed control over data mapping and error handling at each step. Native MCP server and client app, Make AI Agents, Library of Agents, AI Content Extractor, and AI Web Search embed intelligence at any automation step.

Limitations

  • Steeper learning curve than Zapier: building first scenarios takes meaningful time investment for non-technical users unfamiliar with visual workflow logic, scenario inputs and outputs, and branching paths.
  • Smaller native app library than Zapier: some niche tools lack native Make connectors and require custom HTTP module workarounds or the Custom Apps builder.
  • No self-hosting option: data passes through Make's AWS infrastructure in EU or North America, limiting use for strict compliance environments that require on-premise data processing outside the Enterprise on-prem agent.
  • Running out of credits pauses automations rather than incurring overage charges. Scenarios stop running until credits are added, with vendor notifications at 75 and 90 percent of the allowance.

Workato

Pros

  • Enterprise MCP turns proven business workflows into governed MCP servers with memory, rollback, and transactional integrity, giving AI agents predictable and auditable access to business actions.
  • Gartner Magic Quadrant Leader for iPaaS with 14,000+ enterprise connectors spanning CRM, ERP, HRIS, ITSM, marketing, finance, and security categories.
  • One of the most comprehensive security certification portfolios in the automation category, including SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, ISO 42001, HIPAA, GDPR, and CCPA, addressing the strictest enterprise compliance requirements.

Limitations

  • No published pricing across any edition means teams cannot estimate costs without engaging a sales process, and the enterprise positioning suggests price points well above self-serve automation platforms.
  • The platform's enterprise complexity means implementation typically requires technical resources and onboarding support, creating a higher barrier to entry than no-code alternatives like Zapier or Make.com.
  • AI data training policy is not explicitly disclosed in the current privacy policy or trust center despite the extensive security documentation, creating a gap for teams with strict data governance requirements.

Frequently asked questions

How does pricing compare between Make.com vs Workato?

Make.com uses a freemium model, starting at $9 per month on an annual commitment (month-to-month costs more). Workato uses a custom model with pricing on request.

View full Make.com profile

Pricing, reviews, integrations →

View full Workato profile

Pricing, reviews, integrations →

Best Make.com alternatives

See all alternatives →

Related comparisons

Zapier vs Make.com

Free · Every Two Weeks

AI Agent Price & Rating Tracker

Price changes, new agent launches, acquisitions, and rating updates across the AI agent market. Verified against live vendor data, not vendor marketing.

No spam. Unsubscribe anytime. We never share your email.