AI Agent Index

Mem0 vs Cognee (2026)

Side-by-side comparison of Mem0 vs Cognee: pricing, capabilities, integrations, deployment complexity, and ratings. Last updated August 31, 2026 by The AI Agent Index Editorial Team.

Data sourced from The AI Agent Index

Mem0 logo

Mem0

by Mem0 AI

Open-source memory layer for AI agents. Free tier with 10K memories, paid plans from $19/month. Powers persistent, personalized AI interactions across sessions.

freemiumB2B
Visit Mem0
Cognee logo

Cognee

by Topoteretes

Open-source AI memory platform for agents, using a hybrid graph and vector architecture and an ECL pipeline. $7.5M seed, Berlin. Python, TypeScript and Rust SDKs. Free tier, then usage-based from $2.50 per 1M tokens.

freemiumB2B
Visit Cognee
Mem0
Cognee
Pricing model
freemium
freemium
Starting price
$19/mo
$2.50per 1M tokens
Pricing transparency
public
mostly public
Contract type
both
monthly
Customer segment
B2B
B2B
Deployment
cloud, self-hosted, api
cloud, self-hosted
Setup difficulty
easy
moderate
Avg setup time
Under 1 hour (API key, pip install or npm install, add to existing AI application)
Editorial rating
4.7 / 5
4.0 / 5
G2 rating
No G2 listing
No G2 listing
MCP
Server
Server
GitHub stars
64.4k
30.4k
Data training
not disclosed
not disclosed
Human in loop
optional
not required
Security certs
HIPAA
GDPR, CCPA

Capabilities

Mem0

deep-researchdata-analysisopen-sourcebyokautonomous

Cognee

deep-researchdata-analysisautonomousweb-searchworkflow-builderbyok

Pros & Limitations

Editorial assessment

Mem0

Pros

  • Three-line integration that works with any LLM or agent framework. Lowest integration friction of any memory layer in the category, with 19 vector store backends and native integrations for CrewAI, Flowise, Langflow, and Vercel AI SDK.
  • AWS exclusive memory provider for their Agent SDK. Strong enterprise credibility signal, plus official OpenMemory MCP server for direct AI assistant integration across Claude, Cursor, and other MCP-compatible tools.
  • 60,100+ GitHub stars and 100K+ developers. The most widely adopted AI memory layer with the deepest community, documentation, and benchmark research including the ECAI 2025 paper and the April 2026 token-efficient algorithm.

Limitations

  • Growth tier at $79/month bridges Starter and Pro but graph memory remains locked behind Pro ($249/month). Teams needing entity relationship tracking without the full Pro feature set face a meaningful cost jump.
  • LongMemEval temporal reasoning score of 49% trails competitors on the prior algorithm. Zep scores 63.8% and Hindsight reaches 91.4%, though the April 2026 algorithm update shows significant improvement on temporal and multi-hop tasks.
  • High-severity security vulnerability (CVSS 8.1) disclosed April 17, 2026 affecting PGVector, Azure MySQL, and Neptune Analytics backends. Verify patch status at mem0.ai before production deployment.

Cognee

Pros

  • Knowledge graph memory is available on every tier including the free plan and the free self-hosted build, rather than being reserved for a paid upgrade. Agentic integrations covering Claude Code, Codex and MCP are also on the free tier.
  • ECL pipeline builds self-improving memory that gets sharper with use. Rated responses feed back into graph edge weights, so accuracy improves over time rather than staying static like vector-only systems.
  • Three official SDKs cover Python, TypeScript via @cognee/cognee-ts for Node.js, and Rust via cognee-rs, alongside a documented MCP server for Claude, Cursor, Cline, Continue and Roo Code. That is unusually broad language coverage for an agent memory layer.

Limitations

  • Documentation depth is uneven across the three SDKs. The Python surface carries substantially more documented pages than the TypeScript and Rust surfaces, so teams outside Python should expect to read source and fill gaps.
  • No published temporal-reasoning benchmark. Cognee has not published a LongMemEval score, and its own evaluation page reports correctness and F1 measures rather than a comparable figure, which makes objective capability comparison harder for procurement teams.
  • Compliance coverage is thin for regulated buyers. Cognee publishes GDPR alignment and a CCPA section in its privacy policy, but no SOC 2 Type II, no ISO 27001, and no trust-center certification set, and its terms state no position on whether customer data is used for model training.

Frequently asked questions

How does pricing compare between Mem0 vs Cognee?

Mem0 uses a freemium model, starting at $19 per month. Cognee uses a freemium model, charging $2.50 per 1M tokens.

View full Mem0 profile

Pricing, reviews, integrations →

View full Cognee profile

Pricing, reviews, integrations →

Free · Every Two Weeks

AI Agent Price & Rating Tracker

Price changes, new agent launches, acquisitions, and rating updates across the AI agent market. Verified against live vendor data, not vendor marketing.

No spam. Unsubscribe anytime. We never share your email.